Posted in 2017, Literacy

‘Twas the Night Before Slice of Life… (A Story of Audacity)

I had the incredible opportunity this evening to attend a professional learning event featuring Steve Farber, a motivational speaker on Extreme Leadership. In the course of his speech, he touched on the topic of Audacity, a willingness to go outside of your comfort zone to take bold risks. If fear is the only reason holding us back from trying something new, Farber argued, then we need to push ourselves to take the risk.

As I sat there listening to him, my mind immediately went through the times I’ve tried something new, something uncomfortable, something that filled me with fear. If I had to describe myself, I would say I’m not a risk taker. I like routine, consistency and predictability. I worry too much about judgment and making mistakes. In teacher terms, audacity definitely falls into an “area for growth” for me.

My reflections quickly led me to thinking about Slice of Life. Two years ago, longing for a teaching community after almost four years out of the classroom, I spent a significant part of February turning the idea of Slice of Life over and over in my mind. Could I make the time to write every day? Would I have anything at all to write about? Would anyone even want to read my writing? What if they don’t like it? What if I receive criticism I can’t handle?

Nevertheless I pushed myself to try it anyway, probably one of the most “audacious” moves I had made in a long time. Some days it was easy, my mind overflowing with ideas and inspiration and words to fill the screen. Other days it was more challenging as I started and deleted draft after draft. Yet no matter what, I somehow made myself hit publish every single day.

For 31 consecutive days I wrote, sharing little bits and pieces of myself with virtual strangers each day. By the end of the month, I was hooked. Last year I had even less hesitation, pushing myself again to join this incredible community of writers.

Tonight is the eve of my third March of writing in the Slice of Life challenge, and though those little doubting voices still whisper What if your writing isn’t any good? What if someone you know reads your posts and judges you? What if no one comments?, tonight I am channeling all of the audacity I have to once again take the risk, join the community, and share my writing for the next month. I can’t wait to begin!


I’m excited to join other writers every Tuesday and daily during the month of March in 2017 to participate in the Slice of Life writing challenge through Two Writing Teachers. Read all about how you can Write. Share. Give. on their website here.

slice-of-life_individual

Author:

Teacher, mentor, reader, writer, mother, wife Lover of good books, chocolate chip cookies, and sunny days

One thought on “‘Twas the Night Before Slice of Life… (A Story of Audacity)

Leave a Reply

