Posted in 2017, Reflection, Slice of Life

#SOL17 Day 8: Days That Don’t Go As Planned

Today I was supposed to have a working lunch with a new teacher to talk about her action research project.

Instead my phone rang. The nurse from my kids’ school informed me calmly that my son had a fever. Over 102.

This afternoon I was supposed to video a colleague for her National Board portfolio. My iPad was charged and ready.

But I was sitting in the doctor’s office with my son, watching Tumblebooks while the nurse bustled in and out, first testing for strep, then the flu. Diagnosis: Influenza B.

My after school PD class was supposed to meet today for our second session discussing Serravallo’s The Writing Strategies Book. I had a stack of copies on my desk and several lessons ready to model.

I, however, was sitting at home, searching Netflix for episodes of Power Rangers that we haven’t already watched.

We were scheduled to spend our evening with swimming lessons and fast food for dinner.

Instead, both kids snuggled up in their Spiderman and Frozen sleeping bags on the living room floor, engrossed in the Trolls movie. I made my Grandma’s special soup and my husband made them each a smoothie. We negotiated and bribed over doses of medicine.

Some days go exactly according to plan.

But other days don’t. I used to feel like a failure if I couldn’t keep my end of a commitment because I had a sick child at home. There have been many times where I’ve felt guilt and worry over missing something important at school. But I’ve finally come to accept that, being in the business of children, people understand. My One Little Word this year is embrace, and it’s never needed more than on days like today. Sometimes we just have to embrace the things in life that are out of our control.

Author:

Teacher, mentor, reader, writer, mother, wife Lover of good books, chocolate chip cookies, and sunny days

13 thoughts on “#SOL17 Day 8: Days That Don’t Go As Planned

  1. If you haven’t already, read Kathleen Sokolowski’s post yesterday on Courage That Doesn’t Roar. She had a similar day with her kids, and she embraced it just as you did. You both are award-winning parents! Love your OLW, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You did the right thing, of course, by realizing that people understand- your kids HAVE to come first in situations like this. I am sorry that you may still feel a twinge of guilt, but some days do not go as planned, that is the only for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, I can so relate.

    A few years ago on the first day of school at a new school with the assistant superintendent doing a walk-through in my room, my phone rang. It only rings for my kids. His nurse shared that he had thrown up and needed to be picked up immediately.

    The grown-ups of the work world will be okay, and other people can fill some of the gaps.

    Good choice, mom. Sorry the little one is sick, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You made the right choice. I loved the repetition of what was supposed to be and instead format you used. Your descriptions made me want to crawl into my sleeping bag, watch Trolls, and eat soup. I hope the flu passes quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I hate when my days don’t go as planned too. I hope you baby gets better. It’s hard to see them sick.

    I almost chose in ’embrace’ also but ended up with ‘choose’. It’s been a good fit for me this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I don’t have kids (yet, listen here universe! Don’t get any ideas!), but I can surely appreciate the kind of effort you put into juggling so much! I think it’s hard for people to get to the place that you’ve arrived at: realizing that some times plans don’t go as we want them to. I know I’m still fighting it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

