Posted in 2017, One Little Word, Reflection, Slice of Life

#SOL17 Day 25: Do You Know Who You Love?

“Mommy?” There she stood in the doorway of the bathroom, as usual completely ignoring that a closed door means a need for privacy. “Do you know who you love?”

I had to smile at her standing there, her hair still a rumpled mess so early in the morning, big brown eyes looking up at me, little hands with chipped purple nail polish resting on her hips. Maybe it was the question itself; maybe it was the fact that, for just a moment, she was not behaving like the “threenager” who has replaced my sweet little girl for most of Spring Break.

“Who do I love?” I asked right back, already anticipating her answer.

Us!” She proudly proclaimed, barging the rest of the way in and throwing her arms around me.

What a beautiful thing it is to know you’re loved.

What an even more beautiful thing it is to have the ones you love know just how much you love them.


I’m excited to join other writers every Tuesday (and daily during the month of March) in 2017 to participate in the Slice of Life writing challenge through Two Writing Teachers. Read all about how you can Write. Share. Give. on their website here.
    slice-of-life_individual     

Author:

Teacher, mentor, reader, writer, mother, wife Lover of good books, chocolate chip cookies, and sunny days

12 thoughts on “#SOL17 Day 25: Do You Know Who You Love?

  1. And with this sentence “I had to smile at her standing there, her hair still a rumpled mess so early in the morning, big brown eyes looking up at me, little hands with chipped purple nail polish resting on her hips,” your daughter came alive. Love the detailed picture of your three year old.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with Ramona’s comment. The words you wrote that she quoted captured your daughter beautifully! Nicely crafted! I so enjoyed sharing this sweet moment. I’m sure you’ll enjoy revisiting it in the future. I miss those days….well, except maybe the lack of bathroom privacy!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So sweet and your daughter’s response is adorable! I love those moments when you start off a bit annoyed as you want three seconds alone.. and then they say something so innocent and precious that you can’t help but smile and it warms your heart. As a mom it is my hope that my son always knows and feels how much he’s loved. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

