Posted in 2017, Reading, Reflection, Slice of Life

#SOL17 Day 27: At This Moment

Tomorrow we return to school after a week off for Spring Break. As I think about the end of a fantastic week and the work week(s) ahead, I’m borrowing today’s format from Maura at A Work in Progress.

Thinking about: All of the fun my family had over Spring Break, how we will manage to get out of the house by 7:30 tomorrow morning, and all of the changes that lie ahead as my school transitions during the rest of the school year.

Thankful for: My kids, my husband Daniel, my parents and brother, my extended family and husband’s family, and the health and security of the life we’ve built.

Wishing For: One more day of Spring Break!

Planning For: Transitioning back to the classroom in the fall, my son starting kindergarten, summer activities, and the rest of my coursework for this semester.

Reading: Right now I’m juggling The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (everyone has been buzzing about this one and so far it’s amazing!) and finishing Understanding by Design for class on Thursday.

Watching: At this very moment, ShrekMoana is also a favorite at my house right now. When the kids aren’t around, I’m obsessed with This Is Us and Daniel and I have been trying to make time to finish The Girl on the Train for about a week.

Listening to: When the kids are around, the Moana soundtrack. By myself, Hamilton. (Lin Manuel Miranda is getting a lot of airtime at our house.) In the car on our drive to and from Chicago, Daniel and I streamed 90s Alternative to try to relive our college days. With Moana playing on the DVD players right behind our heads, it wasn’t quite the same.

Mood: Wistful. Savoring the last moments of Spring Break with my kids and trying to take a few more moments to relax before things get hectic again.

The more I think about this writing format, the more I like it! This would be a great format to use with kids to ease them back from their time off, too!


I’m excited to join other writers every Tuesday (and daily during the month of March) in 2017 to participate in the Slice of Life writing challenge through Two Writing Teachers. Read all about how you can Write. Share. Give. on their website here.
    slice-of-life_individual     

Author:

Teacher, mentor, reader, writer, mother, wife Lover of good books, chocolate chip cookies, and sunny days

10 thoughts on “#SOL17 Day 27: At This Moment

  1. I wish you could have another week off to relax with your family. Vacations in America just aren’t long enough to allow us to feel fully recharged. I like the format and may have to use it before this new week ends!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoy the structure of the format here – being an organizer. I also enjoy the celebration of family, music, good books, and good music. I haven’t had spring break yet – we have this and next week to go, and I am hoping I have enough steam to make it! :O

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

