Posted in 2017, Literacy, Reflection, Slice of Life, Writing

#SOL17 Day 30: 31 Lessons in 31 Days (Part 1)

This is the third year I’ve participated in the March Slice of Life Challenge through the Two Writing Teachers, and I can’t believe what a powerful month it has been each time. As I sit here and reflect on what this month has meant, what I’ve learned, and how I hope it has changed me as a writer and teacher going forward, I’m going to spend the last two days reflecting on the 31 most important things I’ve learned by participating.

  1. Audience matters. Knowing that someone would read my writing every day was really important to me. I have thrived on comments from strangers, friends, and colleagues over the past month, and greatly appreciate everyone who took the time to read my work.
  2. Writing helps you learn about yourself. Unfortunately, time to really sit down and reflect is rare in the busy lives we lead. By setting aside protected time over the past month to blog every day, I have had time to really examine my beliefs, my worries, and my philosophies on teaching and life.
  3. Writing helps you learn about othersSome of the other writers in this challenge were strangers. Some were colleagues and friends. I learned something from and about every single one of them.
  4. Not all writing is your best writing. Spring Break fell right in the middle of this challenge for me, and I must admit that some of the writing I did during this “down” time was not the best writing I did during the month. However, no matter what, each piece developed a little something in me as a writer that wouldn’t have happened if I wouldn’t have stuck with it.
  5. Writing is about pushing yourself to try new strategies. I’m not the same writer I was at the beginning of the month. I have tried different formats and thought about things I never would have explored before this year’s challenge started.
  6. Revision really is important. As much as I hate to admit it, I’m kind of an “I’m done” sort of person. As much as I like to read, I don’t often reread books. When writing papers or doing work for class, I’m more likely to hit ‘Submit’ than to look back over it with a fine tooth comb. But I’ve gotten into the habit of revision this month more than ever before and started becoming a writer who can’t reread any of my own work without thinking of a little something I want to change or improve.
  7. Writing comes from the heart. The pieces that mean the most to me this month weren’t driven by what was on my mind but by what was in my heart.
  8. Everyone is a writer–but some people don’t know it yet. I’ve seen many different blogs from many different people from many different positions and places in life, and am amazed at the growth and insight people can gain from just a month of taking a risk and trying tImage result for writing quoteshis challenge. Myself included.
  9. Inspiration is everywhere. I was inspired this month by other blogs, by the books I was reading, by things happening at school, and by my own family and experiences. All you really need to do to find inspiration is look around you and look within.
  10. The best inspiration is from unexpected places. This month I’ve taken time to write about Breakout Edu in kindergarten, my grandpa, Lucy Calkins, and all of the changes taking place at my school. Each of these posts was inspired by something happening in my life at that moment.
  11. Writing is truly “living with your eyes wide open.” As I’ve looked around me over the past month, everything has seemed a little bit different. Sharper. Stronger. Worthy of being captured with words.
  12. Writing is healing. The changes taking place right now at my school are ongoing and won’t be settled for several months. I’ll never stop missing my grandparents or wishing my kids would stop growing up so quickly. Writing about each of these things has helped me embrace all of the things going on in my life.
  13. You have to find your own writing habits. After doing this for three years, I know now that I love to write late at night and always make sure to stay about a day ahead of the challenge.
  14. You are your own writer. Yes, we study mentor texts. Yes, we borrow ideas and formats from other people. But every writer is unique. No two writers could ever create the same piece of writing in the exact same way. That’s the beauty of writing.
  15. Once you start letting them in, some ideas that just won’t leave you alone. The day after I attended the Lucy Calkins workshop, I couldn’t get the things I wanted to write off my mind. I thought about it from the moment I opened my eyes that morning until the moment I hit publish.
  16. You don’t have to know where you will end up before you start. Many times this month I started with a seed, a little idea that inspired me. Some days I just sat down and began writing and let the words take me where I needed to go.

To be continued tomorrow as we cross the March Finish Line….


I’m excited to join other writers every Tuesday (and daily during the month of March) in 2017 to participate in the Slice of Life writing challenge through Two Writing Teachers. Read all about how you can Write. Share. Give. on their website here.
    slice-of-life_individual     

Author:

Teacher, mentor, reader, writer, mother, wife Lover of good books, chocolate chip cookies, and sunny days

11 thoughts on “#SOL17 Day 30: 31 Lessons in 31 Days (Part 1)

  1. I like the last one in your list. I’m partial to the simile Anne Lamott shares in _Bird by Bird_, in which writing is like night driving. See what’s revealed in your headlights, write about that to move your thinking forward, and now the headlights reveal the next bit to write about.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! Looking forward to reading the rest of it. I especially like the last item: You don’t have to know where you will end up before you start. That’s a good model for student writers. Planning is wonderful, of course, but lots of times our best ideas emerge from chaos (at least mine do!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really enjoyed discovering your blog and learning more about yourself! I think it’s amazing how you’re within the same city as me, shows how amazing this SOL challenge is! Thanks for all inspiration, I’ve enjoyed this journey with you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

