Posted in 2017, Literacy, Reflection, Slice of Life, Writing

#SOL17 Stuck

After writing every day in the March challenge, I thought writing was getting easier.  But today…I’m stuck.

I want to write about my mom’s 60th birthday today and about all of the wonderful things she has done for me. I want to share my most precious memories and all of the ways I am thankful for having her in my life. But the words just won’t come.

I want to capture all of the precious Easter memories from yesterday, the looks of joy on my kids’ faces as they saw their Easter baskets and hunted for eggs and proclaimed the day to be “the BEST Easter ever.” But I just can’t put all of that into writing tonight.

I keep trying to sketch out the moment when my daughter, hands covered in melted chocolate Easter egg, decided to paint Simba on the inside of our car window “just like that monkey did in the Lion King.” But I just can’t seem to recreate that moment.

I wish I could reflect upon the testing that begins at school tomorrow, the hours of rehearsal and practice and tension and build up over the past weeks. But I don’t know what I would say.

Tonight I am just stuck. Maybe tomorrow will bring the right words my way.


I’m excited to join other writers every Tuesday (and daily during the month of March) in 2017 to participate in the Slice of Life writing challenge through Two Writing Teachers. Read all about how you can Write. Share. Give. on their website here.
slice-of-life_individual

